Thursday, 4 September 2014

Top Five Reads #4





 1. Will Grayson Will Grayson- John Green & David Levithan John Green has many talents, and writing teenage 'coming of age' novels is certainly one of them. This novel sees John teem up with Mr David Levithan, whose work I haven't particularly read but I can vouch for in this book. The story follows the lives of two teenagers in Chicago, who both share the same name, Will Grayson. After some ups and down and in betweens the two eventually meet and share their lives together. Heart warming and funny, I highly reccommend this book.
2. Medieval England- Edmund King  Recently I received my A Level results and was offered a place at York University to study History. So in true Hope form, I have borrowed some historical books from the Library in order to swat up for my first term of Uni. This particular book starts with the 'Battle of Hastings' (1066) to the 'Battle of Bosworth Field' (1485). I would only reccommend this if you are a History lover like myself!
3. Thrive- Richard Layard & David M. Clark This book is amazing, so amazing in fact that it is getting it's own post on Hopes Gone, so keep your eyes peeled for that. Thrive is a factual book all about the problems of Mental Health, and the lack of funding and healthcare available. Some of the figures and life stories in here are truely outstanding, and I could not reccommend this book enough.
4. The Final Testimony of Raphael Ignatius Phoenix For fans of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared this book is for you. Raphael Ignatius Phoenix is going to kill himself on his birthday, on 1st January 2000. An old man, Raphael is tired of his life, but before he kills himself he relives his life, including remembering the 10 people he murdered. Poignant and sometimes saddening, this book is a moving and thought provoking read.
5. Bake I have been on holiday for a while now, and with my Mum away and me spending most of my days looking after the home, my little sister and Dad, baking provides some much needed escape. My little sister got me this book for my 18th Birthday and it is filled to the brim with cake, cookie, bread and desert recipes
Share:

9 comments

  1. Love John Green! I'm currently reading Looking for Alaska. Thanks for the tips! x

    If you have a moment, I'd love to hear your thoughts on my latest post:

    http://www.bohochiccafe.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Looking For Alaska is one of my all time favourite John Green books! So thought provoking H xx

      Delete
  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete

© Barefoot Bravery | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Crafted by pipdig